top of page

At the Hoosiers' home :)


That says it all! Arriving to Indianapolis after a short flight from Washington DC, I found this: IU is home! It is indeed!

a very good impression was created instantly,that the Hoosiers are ready to make your experience a memorable, life-changing one!

Our energetic, uberfriendly program director Jacob led us to Bloomington! CIEDR staff gave us a warm welcome, thank you wouldn't do you that much in voicing our appreciation!

You said, the weekend? Well, we had a prescribed hectic plan: settling in oir aprtments (neat and well-tended), shopping, ah yeah! Shopping At Kroger supermarket is beyond description, it is my first real, rich culture-laden moment... blast shopping,food, utensils.. and what not! as though preparing for imminent hurricane! No exaggeration meant!

Orientation week in Bloomigton went on smoothly, with some highlights that I opt for sharing in shots. After Jacob and CIEDR staff briefed us on whatever concerns our stay, I mean it literally!They talked about the expected and unexpected, the visible and the invisible, Wow! Thank you for making it so easy for us to face our culture shock softly!

From sorting out things at Evermann apartments- our residence- a guided tour in the IU campus to the reception dinner arranged to meet our host teachers, IU advisors and the faculty staff... So much effort does this planning tell about the efforts and time that went into it. There has always been an event, a conference, a festival, I mean something of interest that we could attend ... The Bloomington community and IU of students make our days! So much to see and learn, and of course enjoy... I even had my picture made into a beuatiful holder at the IMU festival.. Thank you guys!

I bet the photos captured many sweet moments during this relatively short journey (Not even a fortnight).

Being in the shoes of students has always mesmerized me, and I am now enjoying the status and the worry of being unprepared for the next class!Each Fulbrighter takes a special course pertinent to their area of interest. The third was our first collective visit to Bloomington high school North... I should devote a whole post to depict this wonderful faciltity in Bloomington, it's so huge that it can compare tu a college in Morocco, with formal courses as well as vocational training. The Cafeteria, the gym, the swimming pool, the library... Okay, have a look :) and see you next post ! Stay tuned!

DA Fulbright

 Keep pushing the elephant !

My DA Fulbright journey 

Hi, I'm Abdelkrim Benqdad - I'm usually called Karim. I have been an EFL high school teacher since 1998. As a practitioner in the field of education, growing both personally and professionally has been in the heart of my pursuits. Some of my professional turning points are getting the PCELT (Professional Certificate in English Language Teaching) in 2014 , and completing an Oregon University certified E-teacher online program on 'Web skills" in 2015. To help impact the lives of underserved kids and bringing about  positive change is a life commitment. Having said this, I feel I have just embarked on the most eye-opening, wholly-engaging experience ever, the DA Fulbright program as a grantee at Indiana, USA.  I've always loved to share my passions, peeves, and points of view with others around me. DA Fulbright: The life-changing trip has added immense value to my life, and I love having the chance to share my passions and wonderings with my loyal readers. Explore my site, and enjoy.

Karim

bottom of page