top of page

Hectic but Eye-opening...

I was invited to an Opera ballet/musical “L’etoile”. As the name goes, It was in French with subtitles in English. Had I ever been to one before? Of course, not as you might have guessed. Booking online, I joined two other Fulbrighters to the IU Opera Ballet & Theater in Bloomington. What a majestic, huge and beautiful facility! I love how the audience, all ages, lined to get tickets, grab some food and head towards their assigned seats! Ushers and usherettes helped in the way… Nothing was left to chance… The show lasted three hours- three acts- music, dancing, singing…A whole satirical piece that caught the audience's attention fo 3 hours...Although I am not a huge fan of opera shows, I should admit, I had serious fun! The evening ended unexpectedly nice with My friend’s host family taking us to cherish some fancy and tasty Ice-cream.

At last, off to Orlando to attend my professional development conference on educational leadership 2017. However, it was weird to be charged 40$ for my carry-on luggage…Imagine 40$, although check-in luggage would cost 25 $! The Frontier lines are not the best for sure! They are even meaner as they tried to sell everything on board! I decide that my flight and conference experience would be spoiled in the least by nonetities whatsoever!

Before landing, I could take a lot of shots of Florida, Orlando... It got me bewildered how the area bespotted with small lakes and pools all over as though the sea has just receded recently as though it has been clad in patched garment. Wow! The area is just amazing! Fountains, green spaces with a body of water, a gem on a string of beads…

Running against the clock, seeing the attractions before resorting to Gaylord Palm resort & Convention Center in the conference. Ah yeah, I met two wonderful people during the reception ceremony: Abdellah, A university professor settled in Wisconsin, Suha, dean of the department of education in Abu Dhabi university. My dinner and evening were the best in their company.

Universal studios, Disney land, Disney Springs, International Driveway, Downtown, Animal kingdom… human mind wonder at its finest form: Mega structures, facilities, fun, resorts, …. All that and what not in this breath-taking Florida… Irma seems to have affected the area in the least manner… I kept asking all my Uber drivers, my acquaintances about the aftermath… Human determination to stand after the storm is unshakeable powered by the need to restore Florida as a non-sleep world resort… I love it... All highways, alleys, parks, resorts…etc. are clean and clear, I testify… catchier than ever, and as good as gold…

It was a conference hosted by a wonder facility, the gaylord Palm Resort and convention center… The fancy Reception ceremony was a royalty. Abdellah was a gem I could run into ... a chemistry professor in Wisconsin…He humbly could secure your attention once you pulled the trigger, sometimes sank into contemplative silence….

Presentations, workshops, professionals from all walks of the profession sharing a smile and a ready-to-give contact card…A book fair was fairly reasonable as prices would soar in such meetings..


DA Fulbright

 Keep pushing the elephant !

My DA Fulbright journey 

Hi, I'm Abdelkrim Benqdad - I'm usually called Karim. I have been an EFL high school teacher since 1998. As a practitioner in the field of education, growing both personally and professionally has been in the heart of my pursuits. Some of my professional turning points are getting the PCELT (Professional Certificate in English Language Teaching) in 2014 , and completing an Oregon University certified E-teacher online program on 'Web skills" in 2015. To help impact the lives of underserved kids and bringing about  positive change is a life commitment. Having said this, I feel I have just embarked on the most eye-opening, wholly-engaging experience ever, the DA Fulbright program as a grantee at Indiana, USA.  I've always loved to share my passions, peeves, and points of view with others around me. DA Fulbright: The life-changing trip has added immense value to my life, and I love having the chance to share my passions and wonderings with my loyal readers. Explore my site, and enjoy.

Karim

bottom of page