top of page

Fascination never seems to end!


Fulbrighters, Family members!

Hello again, Indeed the unique experience goes on!

Karen, my Bloomington family host emailed and what a match? She spent her childhood in my hometown Kenitra! I couldn’t have hoped for a nicer coincidence… Karen is an ESL/EFL university professor in Indianapolis. She picked at us -my country fellow Fulbrighters- at Evermann apartments: The meeting was so warm and casual as though we had known each other for ages! At the farmer’s market, accompanied by Karen, we got to discover a lot of naturally grown food (around 20 types of tomatoes/ Yellow watermelon. etc). I couldn’t resist the temptation of indulging myself in a muffin and other purchases despite being a bit pricey! Later, Karen invited us to a brunch at the majestic upstairs restaurant downtown Bloomington.

My second meeting with Karen was to go on a picnic to lake Lemon, a beautiful lakein the suburbs of Bloomington shrouded in green areas and a big room where we had lunch. There, I met the wonderful Bloomington families! You feel at home with all the attendees saying hi, asking about you, inviting you to a game or offering a drink. I also met a Moroccan student and some Arab students as well.

  • Courses at IU started, so much to read, and high amount of stuff to digest in a relatively short time, overwhelming! Amidst all this grind, there is space for cultural, students’ events though, or rather you’ve got to find time to make both ends meet! Crazy beautiful rhythm and pace I have to admit….

  • Loads of materials to cover, and an unfledged inquiry project to tend, and last but not at all least, visits to the BHSN to make and reflect upon… Challenging, isn’t? Still, it makes a lot of sense to be up to these and survive the situation.

  • IU is the place to be in for higher studies, for undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral, research studies….in a nutshell, a place for those who chase success, distinction, glamour and a rich cultural life replete in events, days, initiatives, open doors… opening horizons indeed!

  • I have been fascinated by the number of schools at IU! Taking the bus in the morning, I would usually see students swarming to schools, in every nook and cranny, finishing their breakfast while answering a call or just tracking the IU bus ! this is another service the Hoosiers deserve to be proud of J .. First-rate service, live tracking on applications, smiling, helpful drivers, I will never forget it!

  • The IU facilities, including printing, services, restaurant and more are all magically accessed through a CRIMSON card (IU card).

  • I gave my first presentation (with Fulbrighters) about the Moroccan education system in a panel organized by The Global Gateway Network at IU. It was my first experience in an auditorium as a speaker… gave me a shudder at first , I should admit, but I surmounted the moment and things went smoothly.

  • Bloomington high school North is a hallmark, an attraction, an edifice… that truly deserves some lines. An enormous, well-equipped facility providing secondary education for the Monroe County student population. It’s been my 4th visit and it has never stopped to push me into “wow” reaction each time. Classrooms, Library, Cafeteria, stadium, swimming pool and more to see… all neat and reflect the excellence expressed in the school mission! Praiseworthy, YES! Ideal, OF COURSE NOT. A place I would want to work in? ABSOLUTELY.

  • My school visits are not limited traditional classes only, but I have been able to get to know many types of classes thanks to my host teacher, Maria, who is arranging things for me. Peer mediation, Interventionist, debate club, community service club, Students government….are but examples I have attended so far…Fascinating, isn’t it? More to come, you say? DEFINITELY. Oh, I was lately invited to attend the homecoming event at the BHSN, the place of the Cougars (the school logo), and it was much fun: Learning about Flag Football, which has nothing to do with soccer…then, a big fire was lit (Bonafire, food, music, gifts..etc

  • Meeting inspire students, undergraduates, considering teaching a s a career…was another amazing moment! During the chit- chat we had, I was impressed how passionate and engaged they are. Two – Mitchell and Hannah- are doing their English studies, and one works on NGOs. How impressive! A big wow for the Indiana university for offering a range of undergraduate degrees that match freshmen’s educational needs and aspirations as they can browse through pathways offered to them …

  • Part of their project work is to conduct an interview with a Fulbright teacher. Our interview was recorded, but hang on! Everything was arranged so that our prior consent was sought...

  • Students asked about various aspects of my professional and personal life, and how experience could further enhance the effectiveness of teachers as educators and agents of change.

  • At the end, all groups shared their surprises, strong interview moments with the rest of the cohort! We had shots, silly ones as well J

  • A reception dinner bringing Fulbrighters and Inspire students and family together was held the same day ! The talk continued but in a less structured way …

Guess what? I flew in a four-seat Hilicopter! Yeah I did, scary, but worth all the fear inside me! It was during a three-day Balloon festival at Fairgrounds, suberbs of Bloomington.... I could grab a moment of a skydiver displaying and descending in front of me! Yeah I could have a shot with this gentleman!

Fulbrighters, Family members!

  • This week, the cream of the crop of Indiana state “Armstrong teachers” at IU, school of education to meet with Inspire students and lunch with Fulbrighters, “Us”. Everyone has a story to tell that captured our attention during a presentation about the power of “Listening”…. Yeah, listening to these teachers was both power and empowerment indeed!... The luncheon witnessed our pairing with Armstrong teachers, so I talked to two about my inquiry project, my experience, my life, jokes..etc the meeting was casually fruitful. Another strong professional moment, Thank you Fulbright!

The fascination is still loading....


DA Fulbright

 Keep pushing the elephant !

My DA Fulbright journey 

Hi, I'm Abdelkrim Benqdad - I'm usually called Karim. I have been an EFL high school teacher since 1998. As a practitioner in the field of education, growing both personally and professionally has been in the heart of my pursuits. Some of my professional turning points are getting the PCELT (Professional Certificate in English Language Teaching) in 2014 , and completing an Oregon University certified E-teacher online program on 'Web skills" in 2015. To help impact the lives of underserved kids and bringing about  positive change is a life commitment. Having said this, I feel I have just embarked on the most eye-opening, wholly-engaging experience ever, the DA Fulbright program as a grantee at Indiana, USA.  I've always loved to share my passions, peeves, and points of view with others around me. DA Fulbright: The life-changing trip has added immense value to my life, and I love having the chance to share my passions and wonderings with my loyal readers. Explore my site, and enjoy.

Karim

bottom of page