top of page

And the learning goes on... :)


CIEDR organized a group visit to Columbus magnet school (both elementary and high schools). The trip took one hour. The school looks neat and like any U.S well-tended school. After a short welcome by the school principal – a very kind lady- However, the show started when we were informed that our tour was going to be facilitated by a kindergartener and a 6th grader. How come? I couldn’t wait to start. Very meticulous looking and firm 6th grade girl, and a kindergartner who seemed to have a long experience impressing his guests!

My surprise dwindled and left room for fascination on how these kids could do a great job leading us through the facilities smiling teachers welcomed us and took pride in briefing us on Project based learning. These amazing kids are versed in eloquence and have acquired a great deal of self-confidence… We had a chance to meet teachers and PBL students to ask questions. The kids seemed to know exactly what they kind of learning they were receiving! A process of preparing kids and making them take their learning on hands is not arbitrary or random option.

As for professional development, the principal complacently stated that they have ‘critical friend groups’ that try to address arising issues in their cockpit- staff room. The high school students and tour just got beyond description: Hands-on learning: Projects, Projects and Projects! Failure is rewarded as it is considered learning. The product is never predefined, so no limitations on students’ imaginative powers. Collaboration heavily impact all projects, and students can ask for a training or entry documents as they label the necessary theoretical part they need before they embark into the project. They can request the admin to bring an expert to school to shed more light on an aspect they are researching. Community engagement gives a strong support to school! School staff committed to excellence and transparency! The environment is deadly quiet, still you could see a lot of creativity, hard work and hands-on learning going on! Later, the principal, some students and we had a short questions session where the latters just exceeded my expectations of what a secondary education pupil would speak like. Very confident, laid-back students with solid knowledge, sense of humor and high aspirations, Oh my god! I thought to myself that these students would challenge often teachers and render them in a helpless state… Even some teachers would have to keep updating, adapting and growing with these students lest they lose their jobs!

An epitome of excellence and wholesome environment image stained by some thoughts of mine like : What about having this school type all over the state of Indiana? The U.S territory? The whole world? Don’t poor kids deserve a life-changing schooling that? How about minorities under representation?

This week, it was my turn to share a culturally-oriented activity with the fulbrighters during the Friday seminar. I prepared a PPT with major attractions of Morocco, a glimpse of its cultural aspects. I could feel everybody was having a better peek in to our picturesque and diverse culture. The videos of my daughters addressing the fulbrighters by their names, welcoming them and wishing them good luck was a strongly emotional moment that tears were the only reactions. Maybe I am unconsciously engulfed in a state of cultural shock as I felt I missed them so much… I don’t know what befell me that moment. The little girls did pretty well and in English to represent Morocco… Even the elevator speech I have been struggling with before was one piece of cake for them. You rocked girls! I am proud of you ever!

Hoosiers outrun cancer, an attractive theme and a must-be-in event … Saturday morning, Our team CIEDR, Some Fulbrighters and I went on a 5 kilometers run in memory of those who lost their battle against cancer and in support of those courageously fighting it. I signed up for the walk- I haven’t run since an eternity- lest I should find it hard to fulfill. However, seeing all ages represented (Some old guys out excelled youths), I went for a run. Harder as it was, my determination to be up to my expectations of me as a runner and foremost as cause supporter never waned. I could make it to the final line together with other. What a feeling of solidarity you could feel, and people standing by others who they have never known or met puts one on knees in respect and admiration for such efforts, and does a lot to restore an almost lost or diminishing faith in the human race.

  • Still more to come…..

DA Fulbright

 Keep pushing the elephant !

My DA Fulbright journey 

Hi, I'm Abdelkrim Benqdad - I'm usually called Karim. I have been an EFL high school teacher since 1998. As a practitioner in the field of education, growing both personally and professionally has been in the heart of my pursuits. Some of my professional turning points are getting the PCELT (Professional Certificate in English Language Teaching) in 2014 , and completing an Oregon University certified E-teacher online program on 'Web skills" in 2015. To help impact the lives of underserved kids and bringing about  positive change is a life commitment. Having said this, I feel I have just embarked on the most eye-opening, wholly-engaging experience ever, the DA Fulbright program as a grantee at Indiana, USA.  I've always loved to share my passions, peeves, and points of view with others around me. DA Fulbright: The life-changing trip has added immense value to my life, and I love having the chance to share my passions and wonderings with my loyal readers. Explore my site, and enjoy.

Karim

bottom of page